Sunday Scrollings + Pray for Paris

I woke this morning deeply disturbed by the news from #Paris, but more amazed by the attention it received on social media. I understand Paris is a beloved and familiar space for a lot of people, but it troubled me that #Beirut, a city my father grew up in, had received so little attention after the horrific bombings two days earlier. It also troubled me that #Baghdad, a place I have absolutely no connection with, received even less attention after the senseless bombing that took place there last week. Worst of all, I found the understanding of the refugee crisis skewed and simplistic. If you've been following the journeys of the people leaving their homes around the world right now, perhaps you'll understand why the words #SyrianRefugeeCrisis are just as devastating as #PrayForParis. It's time to pray for humanity. It is time to make all places beloved. It's time to pray for the world. #ezarawrites

A post shared by Karuna Ezara Parikh (@karunaezara) on

Above is a poem written by Karuna E Parikh which has been shared thousands of times, and I’m sure you’ve seen it by now. These were my exact thoughts after #PrayForParis blew up worldwide. I couldn’t have said it better myself, so I’ll leave it to Karuna. Destruction is everywhere, and no one place deserves more prayers and attention than another.

“Say a prayer for Paris, by all means. But pray for more.” – Karuhna E Parikh

The easiest pasta sauce you will ever make.

You know those songs you forget about, and then out of the blue come across and suddenly are overjoyed? In my case it’s Disparate Youth by Santigold.

I’m seeing Muse live with my Dad in December, and Phantogram is opening up for them. I’m psyched to rock out with my main man. Here’s a personal favourite by Phantogram – Black Out Days.

Being a Canadian, we had Thanksgiving a month ago so we are already on full on Christmas preparation mode. But for all you fellow Americans, this stuffing looks amazing.

I recently cut my hair (see my instagram) and think a few piercings would look sweet on my left ear. I’ve always wanted to get more piercings, but I need to think about it. For now, I shall continue wearing ear cuffs. The piercings on this ear are just gorgeous.

This dessert looks HEAVENLY.

Have a wonderful week!

-Emu

Comment

