Vegan Black Bean Soup

IMG_2845 IMG_2834
IMG_2852

IMG_2859

IMG_2856

It’s finals time which means soup time! Which then translates into me planning to make big pots of soup so I have lots of time to study. Which finally translates into me going “Ooooh! I have more time to go Christmas shopping! I’ll study after dinner.” (Don’t worry Mom I’m still getting plenty of studying done ;))

I make a different pot of soup each week, and sometimes they make the blog, sometimes they don’t. My friend can now answer her own question when she says, “What did you do this weekend?”. Immediately she says, “Oh wait, wait, I GOT THIS. You went out for coffee, did homework and made a big pot of soup? YEAH I NAILED IT.” Then I break out into laughter because she is 100% correct.

I live life on the edge.

Anywho, this is the kind of soup that I can eat until my stomach is so full I can’t move. Salsa is one of my favourite foods, so if I can make a super simple soup that I can top with it, what could possibly be better?!

I hope you are all having a wonderful week! I am now going to go devour a bowl of this soup.

VEGAN BLACK BEAN SOUP ~serves 3-4 adapted from this recipe. 

  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and chopped into thin rounds
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 2 16oz cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 2 TB fresh lime juice
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In a large soup pot, heat olive oil, then saute onion, carrot and celery until fragrant and softened (8-10 minutes).

Stir in garlic and cumin and cook for an additional 1 minute.

Stir in black beans and vegetable stock and bring soup to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes (or more) until everything is tender and super flavourful.

Puree 1/4 of the soup in a blender, then return it to the rest of the pot and stir in lime juice, salt and pepper.

I like to serve this topped with salsa, and diced avocado would be a delicious addition!

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Vegan Black Bean Soup

Comment

