Chocolate Crackle Banana Ice Cream

IMG_2128

IMG_2132

IMG_2130

I am soooooo late for this party. Like years late. But you know what? I’m okay with it! Maybe everyone else is simply early…years early. Yeah! Lets go with that.

Why am I so late to the Banana Ice Cream party? Weeeellll, it’s a little story called “I don’t like bananas”…unless they are mashed up into a cake that also has copious amounts of butter and sugar. So when this whole banana ice cream thing became popular, I wanted none of it.

Why did I change my mind? Well, it was Instagram! That’s right, for some reason, scrolling through photos and photos of delicious looking drool worthy banana ice cream creations made me really want to make it. So I did that thing where I was grocery shopping, spotted heaps of organic bananas and on a whim tossed the smallest most perfect little bunch into my cart. Plus a bag of chocolate chips, cause they were on sale.

And you know what? I made it and absolutely loved it! It’s creamy, light, and my dairy hating stomach loves it too. It’s also a very healthy alternative to ice-cream~except of course if you’re me and decide to melt half a bag of chocolate chips to throw in. But hey, it’s still mostly healthy.

It’s barely a recipe, and by now I’m sure you guys have all seen it floating around the interwebs, but here it is anyways.

CHOCOLATE CRACKLE BANANA ICE CREAM

  • 4 ripe bananas, cut up into coins and frozen for at least 4 hours
  • a few tablespoons of water
  • 1 cup your favourite chocolate chips, melted

Blend frozen banana and water in a blender or food processor until smooth and creamy. Add more water if needed.

Place banana ice cream in a sealable, freezer safe container and stir in melted chocolate. The chocolate with freeze and break up as you add it, making it all nice and crackly.

Put lid on container and freeze until solid, a few hours.

Top with desired toppings (I used coconut…YUM) and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Crackle Banana Ice Cream

Comment

