Pan-Fried Falafel with Stir-Fried Veggies and Couscous (vegan, easily gluten-free)

IMG_2083

IMG_2080       IMG_2061

IMG_2090

I was walking home from uni the other day, and suddenly my brain and stomach connected and said:

I really want falafel right now.

So I made falafel. Plot twist am I right?! Haha…ha…

I’ve never made falafel before, but I sure do love it.

I have a very strong memory of eating falafel while in New York City. I was on a school trip with my concert band, and we were wandering around Grand Central Station in search of something, anything to eat because the starvation was very real. Our noses led us to a stand where fresh falafel was being cooked on the grill. YUM.

The piping hot falafel seemed to just melt in my mouth. Even though I wolfed it down in only a few minutes, I still remember its delicious taste.

This falafel is simple, fresh and flavourful. When paired with lots of veggies and a spoonful of couscous, it is perfect for when you are craving a lighter meal.

PAN-FRIED FALAFEL WITH STIR-FRIED VEGGIES AND COUSCOUS ~makes 3-4 servings

To make this dish gluten-free: Use a gluten-free version of couscous, or serve with quinoa or just more vegetables.

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup fresh parsley, roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 TB fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 3-4 TB olive oil

Add all the above ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth.

Place 2 cups water, 1 cup dry couscous and 1 TB of salted butter into a small pot and bring to a boil. Cover and let simmer for 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork and set aside until ready to serve.

Heat 1 TB olive oil in a non-stick skillet set over medium heat. Using 2 TB of falafel mixture, form patties and place into the heated pan (it will be sticky). Cook for 7-10 minutes on each side, or until golden and crispy. Carefully flip and repeat on other side. 

In the same non-stick skillet, stir-fry whatever medley of vegetables you like. I chopped up 4 mushrooms, 1/2 a green pepper, 1/2 a zucchini and some leftover broccoli.

Plate and serve!

5 thoughts on “Pan-Fried Falafel with Stir-Fried Veggies and Couscous (vegan, easily gluten-free)

Comment

