Apple + Almond Couscous ~ The Perfect Fall Breakfast ~ (Easily Vegan)

IMG_1950

IMG_1953

Last fall you could see me every single morning with a big bowl of oatmeal topped with diced apple, raisins, nuts, cinnamon and honey. Every. Single. Morning. I thank my dear mother for the endless supply of apples, because no apples meant no oatmeal for me.

This year I have been on a peanut butter toast streak. Every single morning it has been a piece of toast topped with a big spoonful of peanut butter and a side of fruit. Every. Single. Morning.

I thought it was time I put aside the peanut butter toast for a while.

So in comes the breakfast couscous.

IMG_1962

I’ve always loved couscous, but never really associated it with breakfast before. A few mornings ago I was about to grab the peanut-butter for my toast as I always do, when I spotted some leftover couscous from a stir-fry I had made the night before. I’d remembered reading somewhere about how it was a delicious breakfast, so I gave it a shot. Long story short, it was absolutely delicious.

This breakfast is so darn easy, warming, satisfying, delicious and perfect for a chilly dark morning. It will definitely keep you full and fuelled until lunchtime.

It is also very versatile, so top with whatever you have lying around! Pears, dried cranberries, walnuts, sunflower seeds…the possibilities are endless!

Apple + Almond Breakfast Couscous makes 2-3 servings

Prepare the couscous~can be made ahead and reheated in the morning or even served cold if you wish

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 TB butter (optional)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup dry couscous

Bring water, butter and salt to a boil in a small saucepan. Add in couscous and simmer with the lid on for 5 minutes. Take off heat, fluff with a fork and serve.

Portion couscous out and top each serving generously with:

  • a sprinkle of cinnamon
  • almonds
  • diced apple
  • a drizzle of honey (leave out if vegan)
  • a splash of the milk of your choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk).

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Apple + Almond Couscous ~ The Perfect Fall Breakfast ~ (Easily Vegan)

Comment

