Vanilla Spritz Cookies

Image

Image

Image Image

 

So I acquired a new toy last week. A wonderful person gave my sister and I a cookie press! Or a cookie gun as I like to call it. It’s the closest I will ever be to holding a real gun so it was preeeeetttty awesome in my opinion. Besides the fact that it’s practically a baker’s gun, it is also the easiest way I have ever known to produce such lovely, perfectly sized and cut out cookies. In one press a fabulous star shaped cookie appears on your baking sheet!

I know. SO EXCITING RIGHT?!?!

Maybe a little bit?

No it’s just me?

It’s okay I’m good with that.

But come on guys, I’m pretty sure if James Bond was a baker he would wield this tool all day ‘eryday. 

VANILLA SPRITZ COOKIES

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large free range egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour, sifted

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F

Combine the butter and sugar in a large bowl. Using an electric mixer set on medium speed, beat until light and fluffy.

Beat in the egg, vanilla and salt until well incorporated.

Using a wooden spoon, stir in the flour until fully incorporated and you have delicious cookie dough!

Pack the dough into the cookie press. Fit with a desired disk design. Press the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet. (do not use parchment or waxed paper either, the goal is for the dough to stick onto the cookie sheet when pressed) Space the cookies 1 inch apart.

Bake until lightly golden brown, about 10-12 minutes. Gently transfer the cookies to wire racks to cool. 

In a glass bowl set over simmering water, melt 1 cup chocolate chips. To get a very thin stream of chocolate, I transferred the chocolate into a ziplock bag and cut the smallest hole I could off one corner of the bag. 

Decorate with the chocolate however you please, then let the cookies set in the fridge for about 1/2 an hour and then enjoy!

Cookies can be stored at room temperature in an airtight container.

 

Comment

