Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie Bars

Image

Did you know that peanut butter dates back to the Aztec times? And that national peanut butter day is January 24? Don’t worry, I didn’t either. I wonder if January 24 ever had anything to do with peanut butter…I’m guessing the ‘Wackiest Holiday’s’ committee was just like,

“Hey, Steve! We should have a national peanut butter day!”

“Great Idea! January 24th is open, sound good? Awesome!” 

Image

Yup…I really love peanut butter, even the part where it sticks to the roof of your mouth. Good stuff, that is. When I was younger, I used to eat all-natural peanut butter right off the spoon with chocolate chips on top. It was so darn delicious, that my brother and I would sometimes sneak some into our rooms when we were feeling extra rebellious.

Image

To be honest, I was kind of afraid to open up my Bloglovin’ feed today, because I knew that the Thanksgiving atomic bomb had gone off, and it definitely was/still is! The blogging world overwhelms me at times, and then I’m reminded that this is where all the awesomely weird people who like to take pictures of their food gather. In other words, it’s where I belong!

Today’s recipe moulds peanut butter cookies into a pan of bars, topped with a layer of melted chocolate. Now WHO doesn’t think that sounds fantastic. Unless you have a peanut allergy, I feel dreadfully sorry for you. Try these, or these instead if you are wanting something square. They are both equally as fantastic.

Image

 

With a cookie like consistency, these bars are kind of addictive…eat with caution.

PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE COOKIE BARS

  • 1/2 cup softened butter (add 1/2 tsp salt if using unsalted butter)
  • 1/3 cup creamy all natural-peanut butter
  • 1 1/4 cups lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 TSP vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 TSP baking powder
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, lightly butter an 8 by 8 inch pan and line with parchment paper, leaving extra hanging out the sides.

Whip together butter and peanut butter until fluffy, add sugar and beat until soft and a light in colour.

In a small bowl whisk together flour, baking powder and salt if using.

Beat flour mixture into butter mixture.

Spread into prepared pan. It will be sticky, so I find using the back of a spoon works best.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown on top, and slightly soft.

Cool completely, then lift the bars out by the parchment paper. 

Put chocolate chips in a glass bowl over a pot filled with a few inches of simmering water. When chocolate is melted, spread over bars. Let cool at least an hour before cutting into squares.

Enjoy!!

 

6 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookie Bars

Comment

