Blueberry, Apple and Cinnamon Coffee Cake

Image

I was making scrambled eggs the other morning, and in between the pan and the egg carton was my usual morning cup of tea. I’d already drank almost all of it, so what happens next did not bother me too much.

So there I was, cracking my egg, when somehow half of the egg, (including the yolk) fell into my mug of tea! I don’t even know. Like..what? I guess that egg just really wanted to be with that tea. I understand you know, being in that cold fridge all night, it probably just wanted to be warm. I would too if I had to spend my life inside a fridge. Naturally, I just fished out the yolk, rinsed it off and threw it into the pan to join the white. I didn’t drink the rest of my tea though, because salmonella just really isn’t my thing.

If you’re wondering what in the name of a llama does this have to do with coffee-cake, then let me tell you, there is a connection. Sort of. Coffee cake is somewhat of a breakfast item, eggs are a breakfast item, and tea and coffee cake make a great pairing! Shabamallama. Or it has absolutely no connection whatsoever and i just wanted to tell you a story. I’ll leave that for you to mull over.

Image

Anywho, this delicious breakfast, snack, afternoon tea delight, midnight snack or whenever else you’re feeling peckish, is awesome. It does involves like, 5 different bowls or something crazy like that, but it is so worth it! ‘Cause after a bite of this coffee cake, the symphony of cinnamon, apple and blueberry will make you either want to jump for joy or just shove the entire piece into your mouth. If it’s warm though…that’s a whole nother story.

BLUEBERRY, APPLE AND CINNAMON COFFEE CAKE

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of both ground nutmeg and ground cloves
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 medium apples, peeled and cored, and cut into thin slices.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease/flour a 9 by 9 inch square baking tin.

In an itty bitty bowl mix together sugar and cinnamon, set aside.

Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, add in eggs one at a time and beat until well blended. Mix in vanilla.

In a medium bowl mix together flours, baking powder, spices and salt.

In another bowl mix together sour cream and baking soda. (The baking soda will foam up the sour cream)

Alternately add the sour cream mixture and flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture until well blended.

Stir in blueberries, pour half mixture into pan and pour half cinnamon/sugar mixture on top. Follow with the rest of the mixture, arrange your apple slices on top and sprinkle with the rest of the cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, until a knife inserted comes out clean.

Enjoy warm for optimal comfort 🙂

4 thoughts on “Blueberry, Apple and Cinnamon Coffee Cake

Comment

