Homemade Cold Remedy Tea

Image

I’ve got a cold. That token, expected cold I always get at the beginning of September. The anticipated ‘back to the routine’ head-cold. The one where my nose leaks like a faucet with stripped knobs and my head feels fuzzy, but not in the ‘oh, this sweater feels AMAZING’ sort of fuzzy. I’m thinking more along the lines of the, ‘dust under the bed’, fuzzy. GOOD TIMES.

I think, like me, mother nature also has some fuzz going on in her brain at the moment. From inside the house, it looks like Fall is a coming. The leaves are turning and starting to drop from the trees, and the days are getting shorter. The late night light of summer that we are all so used to is quickly fading away. But immediately after stepping out the door, you get hit with a wall of 34 degrees Celsius heat. Is it just me, or does something not seem right here? Hopefully the Weather Man has properly predicted the rain and cooling temperatures of the weekend, because they would be greatly appreciated on my end.

Image

I know I’m not the only one who could benefit from getting rid of the extra ‘fuzz’ in my head at the moment. So I’ve come for you today with a hot drink recipe. A drink specially formulated to get rid of the dust in your brain, eliminate that leaky faucet and soothe that scratchy throat!

This is actually a concoction of my Mom’s, but I think we all need to give her a round of slow clapping for this one, because it’s magical and unlike Buckley’s, it tastes great AND works! Who woulda thought?!

As we all ease back into the routine, we need to remember to take a moment and sip a hot drink…even if it has to be a medicinal one.

Homemade Cold Remedy Tea

  • freshly squeezed juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled and grated using a small grater
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger
  • honey to taste

Stir together the lemon juice, garlic and 1 cup of boiling water. Squeeze the juice out of your grated ginger into your cup, and get rid of the pulp. (I recommend composting!) Stir in as much honey as you like. ( I use 1 tsp)

Get well!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Cold Remedy Tea

Comment

