Double Chocolate Espresso Cookies

IMG_0358

A few days ago I was freakin out. Not just a little bit of freak out, a lot of freak out. Why the freaking out you may ask? My Mom diagnosed me with a not so serious case of buyers remorse. Although it seemed like the end of the world at the time… Don’t worry though, it’s all good now. NO more remorse is happening here my friends.

The buyers remorse happened about 2 hours after purchasing my second child. (That being my Macbook Pro WITH the fantabulous retina display. Or as I like to call it, ‘Augusts Paycheque’. I think I’ll name it Paycheque. Seems fairly fitting if you ask me.)

IMG_0356

Annnyywhooo, I’ve wanted a Macbook Pro for like…ever, but let me tell you, they ain’t cheap! (Cue tears and short lived freak out moment.) Immediately after arriving home, I had a moment where I was like, “I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT A P.C!! (A Windows computer that is.) THERE ARE SO MANY THINGS I COULD HAVE SPENT THAT MONEY ON! LIKE EDUCATION!! BECAUSE OF THIS COMPUTER I WONT BE ABLE TO AFFORD TO GO TO SCHOOL AND THEN I’LL DIE A MISERABLE EDUCATIONLESS BEING!” (Sorry for the caps lock.) It was a very,very,very short felt statement.

After a good nights sleep, I woke up staring at my shiny silver Paycheque and I was happy! The remorse was no more…se…teehee.

The best part about Paycheque is the way he makes my photos look. He makes them all spiffy and stuff. No but really, I sometimes can’t believe I actually took the photos. And yes, Paycheque has been gendersised…and yes, that is a real word…possibly. And yes, I name and place a gender on inanimate objects. I’ll introduce you to my camera another day πŸ˜‰ (My first child.)

IMG_0370

I’m feeling good! And you know what also makes me feel good? These cookies. These Double Chocolate Espresso Cookies. They began as a humble chocolate cookie, then I threw in some espresso to deepen the flavour and some white chocolate chunks because I was feelin’ extra fine.

So if you want to feel extra fine, these cookies are definitely for you.

IMG_0371

Double Chocolate Espresso Cookies-makes 1 1/2 dozen

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup softened butter (1 stick)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp espresso powder, dissolved in 1 tb of boiling water
  • 1 free range egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped white chocolate

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. Set aside.

Beat butter until lightened in colour, about 2 minutes. Add in sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Add in espresso powder and beat for about a minute. Taste the batter at this point. You just gotta. Beat in the egg until well incorporated and then add the vanilla.

Stir in the white chocolate and drop by heaping tablespoons onto your cookie sheet, 2 inches apart.

Bake for 8-9 minutes, cool on cookie sheet for 3 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy! You sure will.

Tip time! : Place cookie dough in fridge between baking so it doesn’t soften up too much

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Espresso Cookies

Comment

