Kale Salad with Beets, Olives and Currants – The Perfect Packed Lunch!

11

I know that I shouldn’t even be saying ‘the word that must not be named’ for a few more weeks, but I figure that since children of the U.S have already gone back to ‘the word that must not be named’, then I’m allowed. Also, this particular recipe doesn’t just apply to a certain institution where citizens under the age of 18 learn and spend most of their time, it applies to all of us!

Whether you are travelling, working or going to ‘the word that must not be named’, you usually need to bring a lunch. Unless of course you are lucky enough to have a healthy meal provided for you. If you are one of those people, lucky you! Can I join you?

I’m always looking for something new to bring for lunch that I can prepare in the morning (so it’s gotta be quick and fairly simple) or the night before, that will last till lunch.

I’ve noticed that many other bloggers are all throwing in their own kale salad concoctions. Some are more reserved and some so wild that it seems they hired a chemist to help them concoct it. So I thought I’d join the party! The superfood salad party! I’m inviting myself of course, and there was no help from a chemist…it was pretty much just one of those situations where I tossed what was in my fridge into a container and called it lunch. I photographed it just incase it tasted good, and it was amazing!

13

14

Whenever I pack salads for lunch, I take a little container of salad dressing and pour it on right before I eat it. With this salad, we completely eliminate that step and stir in the dressing right when we make it! I find that the best way to mix in the dressing is after you pile all your ingredients into your container, pour on the dressing, put the lid on (tightly) and shake it! Put some muscle in it, maybe have a dance party and shake the dickens out of that container. This method ensures that every square millimeter of salad is coated in dressing. Until you eat the salad, the dressing will infuse into everything and the flavours will all mingle into something delicious. The shaking is crutial, you cannot use any other method. Yup, the salad just won’t be the same if you use a boring old wooden spoon. This method is the legit best…yes, I am going to keep reassuring myself of this…

Now I warn you, it will end up looking like a pinky, purply mess, but it will be a deliciously HEALTHY pinky, purply mess. This changes everything. Embrace it.

While you are eating this uberly healthy salad, think of everything unhealthy, fattening, sugary and generally terrible to ingest while listenin’ to this song. Not only will you reassure yourself, you’ll feel awesome…I promise.

Kale Salad with Beet, Olives and Currants-for 1 serving

2 big stalks of kale, finely chopped

1 small beet, peeled and grated

A small handful of each:

  • cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • kalamata olives, sliced
  • feta cheese, crumbled
  • dried currants
  • sunflower seeds, toasted in a skillet over medium heat until fragrant and lightly browned

For the dressing:

  • 2 Tb olive oil
  • 1 Tb apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 Tb white wine vinegar (or more apple cider vinegar, or vice versa)
  • 1 heaping tsp smooth dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 tsp honey
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place kale in your container and top with rest of fixings. Whisk together dressing and pour immediately onto salad. Close the lid, making sure it’s tightly on, and shake the container, coating the salad. Enjoy in a few hours!

Comment

