Chocolate Hazelnut Torte

7

This is the kind of dessert that deserves celebration. Wait, no. It doesn’t just deserve to be served at a celebration, it requires it. Or in other words, a celebration is the only way we can justify eating a large slice ๐Ÿ™‚

The particular celebration that this particular cake was served at was a 19th birthday party/send off into the big wide world of university for my older brother. That last part could probably be a tongue twister…’big wide world of university, big wide world of wuniwersity, wig widfe gjkfgrk uniwerjsdlbety…’ (as you can tell, I’m not the best at tongue twisters)

4

 

Anywho, I am 1 of 4 siblings. I have 2 older brothers and a younger sister. My eldest brother moved out a few years ago. When he did, it felt kind of strange for the first week or so, but then I easily slid into the life of having only one brother around the house. Not that my eldest was actually around that much anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

Saying goodbye to my other brother is going to be tougher I think. By him leaving, that means that there will be only one manly presence hanging around, that person being my Dad. For as long as I can remember, there has always been an older brother hangin’ about or being heard either by the eldest’s guitar or the second eldest’s violin. Sometimes even both at once…now that is an interesting experience.

There’s always been one of them to talk some sense into me, chase me around the couch or torture me with never ending tickles that ever so kindly come with a complementary death grip.

5]

I’m so fortunate to have two brothers and a sister to grow up with. Of course there have been plenty of kerfuffles and arguments over why one of us deserves not to do the dishes or eat the last cookie, but it’s all good.

I’m not a very sentimental person when it comes to saying goodbye to my siblings, because I understand. I understand their excitement to move away, become independant and begin their lives! I’m not necessarily ‘happy’ to see them go, but I’m excited to see where they go. Both of them are very talented, smart, young men, so it’s exciting to see them weave their way through their own personal web and take on life. I’m even a little jealous at times that I’m not older and moving out with them…don’t worry Mom, I’ll still be round for a while ๐Ÿ™‚ But as they say, high school is the easy part of life, so I’ll just make sure I finish that first and then figure it out from there.

6

My brother isn’t quite leaving yet, but when he does, maybe there’ll be more cake ๐Ÿ™‚

Chocolate Hazelnut Torteย from Betty Crocker

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chipsย – good quality chips makes all the difference
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 4 organic free range eggs, seperated
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup finely chopped and toasted hazelnuts or almonds (the more the better!) plus extra for garnish.

Heat oven to 325 degrees F and grease the bottom and sides of 2 round 8 inch pans. Line the bottoms with waxed paper or baking parchmentdo not skip this…trust me, there have been too many broken cakes for my liking because of skipping this step.

Melt chocolate chips and butter in a glass bowl set over a pot of simmering water set on medium heat. Stir constantly until completley melted. Take bowl off heat and let cool 5 minutes. Stir in flour until smooth. Stir in egg yolks until well blended.

Beat egg whites in large bowl with an electric mixer on high speed until foamy. Beat in sugar, 1 Tb at a time until soft peaks form. Fold chocolate mixture into whites, making sure to keep as much air in the whites as possible. Fold in toasted hazelnuts and spread evenly into pans.

Bake about 25 minutes or until tops of cakes appear dry and toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes. Run knife along side of each cake to loosen; remove from pan to wire rack. Remove wax paper and cool completely.

Prepareย chocolate truffle filling (below). Spread 2/3 cup of filling on bottom layer. Top with other layer and frost the top and sides of the cake with remaining filling. Garnish with hazelnuts, chill till firm and devour!

Chocolate Truffle Filling

  • 2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Melt chocolate chips and butter in a glass bowl set over a pot of simmering water set on medium heat. Stir constantly until completley melted. Take bowl off heat and stir in the heavy cream. Chill in fridge for 30 to 40 minutes, stirring periodically, until just thick enough to mound and hold it’s shape when dropped from a spoon. Frost that delicious torte!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Hazelnut Torte

Comment

