Conflicting Thoughts: Can I Actually Eat ANYTHING?!

37

Paleo, vegan, frutarian, gluten free. It seems that every day there is a new way to eat. Every day someone comes up with their idea of what’s best for their body and a lot of the time what they think is best for everyone else’s. Every day there are foods we should be cutting out from our diet and new ones we just HAVE to add in. Should I actually not be eating AT ALL these days?

Something I’ve realized that comes with food blogging is the constant and friendly push from other bloggers to eat more of this and never ever touch such and such with or without a ten foot pole ever again. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing for so many people to be encouraging you to eat healthier, excersize more and feel better about yourself, but with so many different opinions and diets floating around, when I look at a cookie the angel and devil on my shoulders have an all out MMA style fight to the death arguing over why I should or shouldn’t eat it! It’s tough! If you’re wondering, I’ll usually just eat the cookie, because if I made it and it needs to be eaten, what’s wrong with that? I’ll just go for a walk.

40

The gluten-free and paleo alike will all disagree with the refined sugar from satan and the all-purpose flour of death I’m willingly putting into my body, but it’s not like in the next five minutes I’ll be having convulsions on the kitchen floor. Sure I’d definitely rather be eating a cookie made with whole wheat flour/honey grown and processed down the road, but with such cookie recipes calling for 1 cup of honey, your cookie has turned from a humble and inexpensive indulgence to quite the bank breaking venture. Shouldn’t it be less expensive to eat the healthy alternative? Shouldn’t we be encouraged to purchase local food products to bring down our carbon footprint? In my mind it makes complete sense, but obviously in other’s not so much.

If you are wondering what a trip inside my brain is like, this is what it’s been like for the last few weeks. Oh the conflicting and muddled thoughts…

39

I tried to think of a recipe that we could all agree on. Something that if I was having a dinner party and I invited the average North American cook, the raw vegan down the street and the primal in the neighbouring continent, they would all eat and thoroughly enjoy it. Sorry to say it outloud like this, but it just ain’t gonna happen. I hate to say it, but even water from the tap may stir up an argument about chlorination and the benefits of filtered versus distilled versus water from that good ol’ waterfall we all have in the backyard. Doesn’t anyone else think that something is terribly wrong here?!

What I’ve realized is that we’re never all going to agree. We all have beliefs and are very very passionate about them. I speak from experience when I say we all just need to do our own thing. Calm encouragement is one thing, but you’re not going to see me down the street in a few hours with a big sign saying: ‘FREE RANGE IS THE WAY TO BE!’ with a chicken in hand and shouting out why I’m a self proclaimed chicken ambassador.

Anywho, these are my muddled thoughts and you have yours. I agree that this entire post may contradict itself more than once, but it’s just my point of view. If you have one, and of course you do, please share below. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Till we can all figure this out, I suggest a potluck.

6 thoughts on “Conflicting Thoughts: Can I Actually Eat ANYTHING?!

  1. No matter the differences, there are always points of commonality, though. Bottom line is we all love food 🙂

    In my experience a good raw vegan cheesecake will satisfy all-comers to the dinner table :p The meat-and-cheeser will near keel over in surprise at the fact something dairy free can taste so incredibly rich, the raw vegan will dive in keenly and the paleo crew will be so happy they are being presented with a grain and dairy free cheesecake that they will want to rub it all over their bodies as well as eating it all.

    BOOM. Raw cheesecake. The great uniter!

    Like

    1. You know, I’ve never tried raw vegan cheesecake, but it sounds delightful! I hope you are right, cause it sounds like it’s gonna be served at my next dinner party! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

  2. Sorry you’re so frustrated. 😦
    Most people I know who are on special diets would rather eat whatever appetizer or side dish they can eat (or bring their own food if their diet is super-complicated) than for someone to go out of their way to accommodate them. Especially when cooking for a group, I think it’s unreasonable for anyone to expect you to base the entire menu on their restrictions (unless you see it as a challenge that you would actually enjoy).
    If you’re really in a bind, guacamole tends to be a pretty safe bet – it’s raw, vegan, gluten-free, and most carnivores love it too. 😉 And ditto on the raw vegan cheesecake. It is surprisingly delicious!

    Like

    1. I agree. For someone to expect you to accomodate their diet while cooking for everyone else does seem a bit ridiculous. I sure do love guacamole…great idea. Thanks for your thoughts 🙂

      Like

  3. The thing with fad diets is that they change every season when a new one comes in and experts agree that the old model was wrong.

    Lucky for us, good food never goes out of style. If it tastes good, I’ll eat it. Common sense goes a long way and I’ll I don’t think I’ll ever be strictly any diet, moderation is key.

    I think that’s one of the reasons why I enjoy cooking so much. I get to know what is in my food and I also know for sure what is not.

    I went to a vegetarian pot luck not long ago and it was actually a lot of fun and the food was delicious. I’m a passionate meat eater but that’s not to say I couldn’t eat a few meals of vegetarian fare every now and then (and enjoy it).

    Like

    1. I completely agree. I don’t think that we should be completely cutting out anything from our diets, just that we need to have everything in moderation (just like you said) and within reason. I understand if the only way a certain person can control their consumption of say, bread, they completely cut it out of their diet as a very last resort. But just cutting something out altogether doesn’t seem right to me. Thank you for your thoughts!

      Like

Comment

