Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies – A Guest Post

 

Image

Greetings! Most of you were probably expecting Emu, but not today! My name is Katie, Emma’s younger sister. I’m 11 years old, and I’m writing a guest post on these delicious chocolate chip cookies.

I am not anywhere close to a professional baker. I’m about fifty steps below my sister, but if I may say so myself, I make a mean chocolate chip cookie. My friend Kate and I found this recipe when we were browsing online, and to tell you the truth, I have no idea where it came from anymore, but the point is, I didn’t write the recipe.  I’m pretty sure that if I tried to write a recipe for something extravagant, like a torte, or pie, it would grow tentacles and try to murder everyone around it, but do those cookies look like they have tentacles to you? Nope! They’re just ordinary little treats to have with some afternoon tea.Image

Since it is the middle of summer, and the temperatures are gradually rising every day, I decided to put the dough in the fridge overnight and bake them in the morning, so that they did not heat up the house too much. In the morning, I turned on the oven and started to roll the dough into little balls. “Emma!” I had called. “The dough’s still really hard!”

Image

Emma came in to help, and told me that some bakers swear by putting your cookie dough in the fridge before baking, but to me, it still doesn’t change the fact that the dough. is. hard. Oh well. We finished molding them, baked the cookies, and without further ado, here is a recipe!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies –  makes about 21, give or take a few

If you want less of a chocolate flavor, go ahead and use less chocolate chips. It’ll work out fine!

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (or 1 stick)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp. corn syrup
  • 1 egg (free range, people! free range!)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Whisk flour, salt and baking powder together. Set aside. Cream cold butter and sugar together by beating them until they are smooth. Add corn syrup, egg, and vanilla and continue beating until combined. Scrape down the bowl and gradually add the flour mixture, beating until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips with a spoon.
  3. Using a spoon, or just your hands, scoop out a ball of dough and place on a tray, covered in parchment paper. Flatten slightly. Leave enough room between each cookie for them to expand. Bake for exactly 12 minutes. Cool for two minutes on  cookie sheet, then move them to a cooling rack to cool further.

Last but not least, enjoy! 

*Best served when fresh out of the oven for a crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside texture.*

Photography by Emma

 

 

7 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies – A Guest Post

  1. Oh! I am so amazed with your little sister baking these mean cookies!! It’s so nice to have a sister with the same interest as yours. And these cookies look really delicious!!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I am really glad too! I was very impressed how these turned out; and I may even go as far to say that they are the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted!

      Like

Comment

