Homemade Bagels! Montreal Style

Image

I’ve never been good with yeast. To this day my cinnamon buns are always extremely dense and as hard as your pet rock. It’s the rising. It’s always been the rising. There’s never enough heat, or dry days and there is always, always that one thing called impatience.

But on this day, that is not the case! This day I have done it! I have ‘risen’ to the occasion and have made bagels that actually worked! This is how I did it.

You see, there is this lovely method I came across called ‘slow rising’, better known as ‘rising over night in the fridge’. After more research, I learned that some people swear by this method and say you can never get as good a flavour by rising it in a warm place for a few hours. Excited that I may actually be able to create a yeast baked good without it turning into a brick, I pulled out this recipe and went for it.

Image

I made the dough the day before baking andΒ to my surprise,Β within an hour, the dough had already doubled in size. At this point there was a moment where I was afraid the dough would rise too much, or rise so much that it would fill the entire fridge and we would have to eat bagels for a month. Don’t worry, it was only a moment.

Hours later, boiling and baking were complete and I was receiving my families approval through full mouths. We had a delicious breakfast if I may say so myself. I can’t wait to make more bagels. Maybe I should make them cinnamon raisin! Or all whole wheat! Oh, I’m excited.

These bagels are imperfect perfection. They look a little rough around the edges, but are so worth it and super simple!

I left for work this morning with one bagel left, and came back and it had disappeared. I think that’s a good sign.

Montreal Style Bagels-makes 6 large or 10 medium sized bagels

Feel free to swap the whole wheat flour and all-purpose quantities. I’ve made both versions, and they both worked out magnificent!

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tb quick rising yeast
  • 2 tb granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 tb vegetable oil

Day 1

In a large bowl combine flour, yeast, sugar and salt.
In another bowl combine egg, water and oil.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix together. If dough is quite sticky, add more flour.
Turn out dough onto lightly floured surface and knead for 5-10 minutes. If dough is still sticky, add more flour while you knead. The goal is for the dough to be pretty smooth, springing back slowly after pressing a finger into it.
Place in a large greased bowl and grease all sides and top of the dough.
Cover with a towel and set aside, let rise for 15 minutes.
Cover bowl in saran wrap and place in the fridge overnight.

Day 2

  • 3 tb granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • sesame or poppy seeds

Punch dough down; turn onto lightly floured surface and knead a few times.
Divide the dough into six pieces; roll each piece into a ball and poke a large whole in the middle with your thumb. Shape it into a bagel like shape, remembering that it will puff up and become larger.
Place on a parchment lined baking sheet, cover and let rise in a draft free place for 15 minutes.
In the meantime, preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Time to poach!
Fill 3/4 of a medium sized pot with water and bring it to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and stir in granulated sugar.
Slip bagels into the water, 2 at a time, and cook for 1 minute. Turn the bagel over using tongs and cook for 1 more minute. Place onto parchment lined sheet using tongs or a slotted spoon. Repeat with the rest of the bagels
Whisk egg in a small bowl and brush it onto the bagels. Sprinkle with poppy or sesame seeds. Don’t be afraid to use a lot!
Bake for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown and when you flip the bagel over and tap it, it sounds hollow.
Remove from pan and let cool for a few minutes on a wire rack.

Enjoy! I’m sure you will πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Homemade Bagels! Montreal Style

Comment

