Fresh Raspberry Fool

18

Do you remember your childhood? I know I shouldn’t even be mentioning this because I’m technically still going through mine. For today’s purposes, I’m talking about when I was 6 years old. Or maybe I was 7? I’m not completely sure.

When I was young, I lived in an outdoor education center. What I mean by this is that my family and I lived in a forest in the middle of nowhere, smack dab in the middle between two towns. It was like a big summer camp. There was a lake, cabins, canoeing, kayaking, team building activities and one of my favourites, a high ropes course . Except their were no food fights in the dining hall. I absolutely loved living there. My father worked as a recreation instructor, so hence why we were there! We lived in a small cabin, so my brother’s and I would always be found outside jumping in puddles or going on long walks with Mom.

13  14

I lived there for 5 years, but the memory I remember most is making jam. Yes, making jam. It wasn’t your average everyday jam though. It was special. There were only a few families living in the outdoor education center year round, so I had a few friends I became very close with.

Jam making was a favourite activity for my friends and I. By jam making, I mean finding every single type of berry in the whole place and squishing it together in a bowl. We had raspberries, a few varieties of currants, strawberries and probably a few leaves of some kind squished together. Then we would slap it on some bread and devour it. It was awesome.

16

When I was halfway through grade one we packed up and moved to where we live now. After a few years we moved once again, but only a few blocks away. I was overjoyed to realize that in our back yard, we had a raspberry bush!

I used to hate being assigned the task of raspberry picker. My Mom had to harass me before I’d finally get my but out to the backyard. Nowadays, I don’t mind it at all! It’s nice to go outside with a bowl of yogurt and toss in a few fresh berries. It’s somewhat of a routine when the berries are in season.

17

This raspberry fool really isn’t the most complicated of recipes. I’m not even sure if I can even call it a recipe. What I can say is that this was sure darn delicious, and I definitely picked all the berries in my pajamas.

Fresh Raspberry Fool- makes 4 small servings

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tablespoons powdered sugar (icing sugar)
  • 2 cups fresh raspberries

Take 1 1/2 cups of the raspberries and squish them with a fork until they reach a jam-like consistency. Depending on the ripeness of the berries, add a bit of sugar until you get your desired sweetness.

Whip the heavy cream until soft peaks form, adding the vanilla and sugar just before it’s finished whipping.

Carefully fold in the raspberries to the cream and chill for at least an hour.

Place in pretty glasses and toss on the remaining berries.

Enjoy!

Comment

