Canada Day Buttermilk Pancakes

Image

Today is the day I celebrate in white and red. Today is also national barbecue day. Well, it actually isn’t, but it sure seems like it. I know we are attending one! If you are not true north strong and free, how are you doing? Today, I and many others are celebrating Canada Day. Personally, by celebrating, I mean the overtime/holiday pay I get at work. Yay for working in the service industry! Just kidding 🙂

I’m not quite sure how other countries view us. Yes, I agree that we are quite spoiled due to the immense amount of land and beauty we have versus population. If you are from another country, let me know how you see us canucks! To me it seems that foreigners think that we eat maple syrup on bacon for every meal and ride polar bears to school…that may be just a little bit far from the truth. What I can say though, is that we seem to be a polite and happy bunch that loves a good game of hockey.

I love Canada, and I’m very lucky to live in such a beautiful place. So celebrating to the fullest just seems like the right thing to do!

Image

Now lets talk about pancakes. Chocolate chip pancakes with maple syrup whip cream and fresh raspberries to be exact. Now we’re talking! These pancakes celebrate all things Canadian. The red and white of the raspberries and whip cream, the fact that the whip cream is flavoured with maple syrup and carbohydrates! (stole that one from my Mom)

Just because you aren’t Canadian doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate with these delicious pancakes! My siblings and I felt very special this morning because we were actually allowed to put chocolate chips in them. That is a very rare occasion in my household. Besides the whipping cream, no syrup is needed for these pancakes. The sweetness of the chocolate chips and cream is plenty!

The berries came from our very own berry bush! But if you don’t happen to have a raspberry bush, I won’t tell anyone if you nip over to the store to pick some up.

To my fellow Canadians, have a very happy Canada Day! To everyone else, have a wonderful day!

I have to go feed my pet beaver now.

Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Maple Whip Cream and Fresh Raspberries

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tbs sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbs oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a large bowl. 

In a smaller bowl whisk eggs, vanilla and oil together. Add buttermilk and whisk together.

Pour wet into dry and mix thoroughly until all the flour mixture is incorporated. Add a bit more milk if necessary to make the batter fall off the spoon in a thick, smooth stream. Mix in chocolate chips and make the pancakes! Pile pancakes between layers of maple whip cream and fresh raspberries.

Maple Whip Cream

  • 1 cup whipping cream (heavy cream)
  • 3 tbs maple syrup

Whip both ingredients together until soft peaks form.

6 thoughts on “Canada Day Buttermilk Pancakes

Comment

