Spiced Apple and Almond Cookies

5

A good cookie is not something to be taken for granted. Many cookies I like to describe as just ‘meh’. That’s halfway between tasty and just edible if you know what I mean. This is how I feel about boxed cookies. I don’t usually eat cookies from a box, but when I do it’s mostly because they just happen to be in the cupboard and I’m hungry or want to dip something in my tea.

3

For me, I know I’ve got a good cookie when I want to eat it first thing in the morning. This is a big deal, because I love breakfast! I’ll have granola and smoothies anytime, anywhere. I’m just like that.

These cookies are those kind of cookies. The kind I want to eat at 7:00 am. Every day. For an entire week.

4

These cookies require a good amount of apples and even more of self restraint.

Spiced Apple and Almond Cookies-Β based on this recipe

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup apple juice or cider
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 2 medium sized apples, peeled, cored and finely chopped

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper; set aside.

In a large bowl beat butter for 30 seconds. (An electric mixer works best) Add sugars, cinnamon, baking soda, nutmeg and cloves. Beat until combined, making sure to scrape the sides of the bowl occasionally. Beat in egg and apple juice until combined. Beat in flour and ground almonds in 3 additions, beating well after each addition. Using a wooden spoon, stir in the apple.

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoons, 2 inches apart, onto cookie sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are light brown. Cool on cookie sheets for 1 minute, then transfer to wire rack Β to cool completely. Frost with Apple Frosting!

Apple Frosting

Beat 2 cups powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons of softened butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp milk and enough apple juice to make the frosting a nice spreadable consistency. You can do this in the electric mixer, or by hand.Β If doing by hand, start with 1/2 cup powdered sugar and the butter, beat until combined, then add more sugar and some of the liquid, then more sugar and more liquid until all the powdered sugar is combined and you have your icing!

Comment

