Spinach-Grilled Cheese with Mozzarella and Parmesan, Served with Salsa

Image

The other day I had gum graft surgery. If you aren’t sure what that is, I shall explain. I will warn you it is a little bit gruesome sounding, so skip this paragraph if you don’t want anything to do with that. Anywho, after having braces my gum on one of my teeth had receded quite far down, exposing quite a lot of bone and almost the nerve. Therefore, the dentist had to cut a little bit of gum away from one part of my mouth and stitch it onto the troublesome area. So there we go! That is what happened.

I apologize, because I know this is not a conversation I should be having with you on a food blog, let alone over this delicious sandwich!

Image

The actual surgery was not painful at all, because the entire right side of my face was frozen. The recovery has been completely fine as well. The hardest part seems to be the fact that I have to keep a strict soft food diet for the next few days. Unfair! I thought about making something delicious and soft that I could pair this story with, but in the end, my diet has been yogurt, spinach/kale/berry smoothies, eggs and lukewarm soup. Which really isn’t interesting enough to write a post on. The other thing is that I can’t have any hot things! So tea is completely out of the question. Being me, I cannot live without my tea, so I improvised. I made some iced herbal tea and had a large jug in the fridge. I say I ‘had’ a large jug because I drank it all in one day…

I ate this sandwich the day before I had my surgery, and it was so darn delicious I just had to share it. It seemed a lot more exciting than a recipe for scrambled eggs… Also, writing about this sandwich sort of fulfills my craving for it.

My mother came up with the idea of pairing salsa with a mozzarella grilled cheese sandwich. Not only is it a healthier option, it tastes so much better! We really enjoy mozzarella as opposed to cheddar in our sandwiches.

This sandwich is so divine that if others are sitting around you, they will be drowning in a pool of their own saliva. Okay, maybe not that much saliva. If they ask, make sure you give them a small bite, or else you may have a riot on your hands. I don’t want to see any of you running down the street scarfing down this sandwich, being followed by a pack of hungry citizens armed with forks and knives.

Enjoy this sandwich with caution.

Spinach-Grilled Cheese with Mozzarella and Parmesan

  • 2 slices whole grain seedy bread- I used Silver Hills Mack’s Flax
  • 1 stalk of flat leaf spinach, or a small handful of baby spinach
  • a few slices of red onion
  • a small handful of freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • as many slices of mozzarella cheese as you desire!
  • little bit of butter

Put mozzarella slices on both slices of bread. Place spinach on one side and parmesan and red onion on the other side. Put together, butter both sides and place on a pan set over medium heat. Grill until golden brown and deliciously melty. Serve with salsa of your choice.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Spinach-Grilled Cheese with Mozzarella and Parmesan, Served with Salsa

Comment

