Pesto-Cream Cheese Salad Wrap

Image

School’s out tomorrow, so of course this is the perfect time to show you what I bring to school for lunch! Oh well, this delicious lunch (or dinner, maybe even breakfast!) is perfect for the summer season.

I’m on the fence about school. I don’t like it and I don’t loathe it. It’s just kind of a thing I know I have to do to succeed in life. So off to school 5 days a week I saunter down the road. My walk to school has been implanted in my brain. Sometimes I leave the house and just seem to ‘arrive’ with out knowing how I got there. Food is probably on my mind… If I didn’t go to school, I’m sure that all I would do is eat and eat and eat. Which is not the best idea!

Image

Since I strive to be healthy, I don’t really like to buy lunches. Since I enjoy making my lunches so much anyway, buying them just seems disappointing sometimes. To be honest, I love going out for lunch, but forking out 10 dollars every day just isn’t in my best interests.

There are so many different things you can take for lunch that aren’t a sandwich. Personally I only take a sandwich to school at the most once a week. I like bringing leftovers, salads and especially wraps. They are my absolute favourite.

Image

This week I am bringing you my favourite wrap that travels in my bag to school. The mixture of homemade pesto and thick cream cheese is just delicious. Even on crackers. My Mom makes a big batch of fresh pesto from our plants and freezes it in cubes to use throughout the year, so that’s a pretty neat idea if you’re up for it. I then threw yesterday’s leftover salad into my wrap and topped that with a few extra fixings. So even though you may not be bringing this to school, bring it to the beach! Or work! Or a picnic! The possibilities are endless. Same goes for what you put in the wrap. Mix it up and make it delicious.

Pesto-Cream Cheese Salad Wrap

  • Tortilla I like the whole wheat ones
  • PestoΒ link to homemade pesto here
  • Cream Cheese
  • Grated CheeseΒ I likeΒ mozzarella
  • Lettuce
  • Vegetables of your choice –I used tomatoes, cucumbers, mushrooms, celery and whatever else was in yesterday’s salad
  • A few sliced olives
  • Fresh Parsley
  • Salt and Pepper-These ingredients are very important! At least to me anyway πŸ™‚

Spread the pesto and cream cheese on your wrap, followed by the cheese and everything else. Then devour.

3 thoughts on “Pesto-Cream Cheese Salad Wrap

Comment

