Peanut Butter Blossoms

Image

I’d say I’ve developed quite a lot in the kitchen. I’ve graduated from being my Mother’s sidekick and needing her supervision. I’ve started experimenting with more challenging recipes, some working and some being quite the failure. But my wonderful family nods and smiles despite the fact I fully well know that the cookie they are eating tastes like sawdust and has the texture of it too.

Image

All this new recipe testing and experimenting has made me develop into a better baker, and  somewhat of a better chef.

Tonight I made these Peanut Butter Blossoms for my concert band performance. I looked for an hour trying to find a recipe that I could make in under two hours, wasn’t too fancy, because teens these days don’t have the best taste in food, and wouldn’t just be chocolate chip cookies. I have trouble finding recipes sometimes because I want to look for something impressive, but doesn’t call for a cup of ricotta cheese and flakes of edible gold. Okay fine. I’ve never found a recipe with edible gold in it, but you get my point. I’ve seen so many recipes with ricotta in them lately. Am I the only one? Eventually after abandoning a few recipes after realizing they needed to be chilled or there were no hazelnuts around,  my Mom suggested I just make our families recipe of oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. These cookies are delicious, but as previously stated, I wasn’t into making these cookies. My friends know I’m a decent baker and if I showed up with a paper plate filled with a pile of brown spotted dough balls,  lets just say I don’t feel so good about that.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies were one of the first recipes I ever made by myself, because I don’t know if you could get them wrong. Even if you put the chocolate chips in first and the eggs in last, I’m pretty sure they would still taste quite delicious.  I started remembering all the recipes I started out with, and a delightful memory of pushing chocolate chips into hot peanut butter cookies made me drool. After checking that my fridge was stocked up with peanut butter and chocolate chips, I set to work. A few whisks, beatings, stirs and bakings later these cookies were born. Most of that was done by the Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, but I’m not ashamed.

Image

I love testing out new recipes and creating new things, but I also love making the simple staples that first brought me into the kitchen. So here they are in the flesh, peanut butter blossoms with a hint of chocolate. These cookies are best eaten hot with the chocolate all melted and gooey, but are still divine all cooled and pretty dipped in a cup of steaming tea.

 

Peanut Blossoms- Not quite sure where these came from…back of a box maybe?

Beat together: 1/2 cup softened butter, 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter, 1/3 cup granulated sugar, 1/3 cup packed brown sugar

Beat in: 1 egg, 3 tbsp milk and vanilla

Combine 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt and gradually blend into mixture.

Shaped dough into small balls and roll in sugar.

Place on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bae at 350 degrees Farenheit for 5-7 minutes, or until small cracks start to appear on top of cookies. Remove from oven and immediately press a Hershey kiss or chocolate chips in the middle. I find if you are using chocolate chips like I did, that making a small hole with the end of a wooden spoon in the cookie before pressing chocolate in works the best.

Enjoy!

Comment

