Pesto Pizza Florentine

Image

I’ve been to the movies quite a lot lately. By the movies I mean the television in my parents bedroom downstairs. I’d like to say I’m a movie connoisseur, but that’s just not true! And Professor Umbridge told me I should not tell lies, so I will not!

I’m at the age where I’ve started to appreciate movies that don’t just have romance and super-powered handsome men in them. I’ve started to look past the Hollywood blockbusters that in the end don’t have that much to offer. Since I am being honest today, I love ALL the new superhero movies, because they are just a ton of fun and excitement! But recently, I’ve just felt that I want more out of a movie than just men in costumes saving the world. Thankfully, my brother has seen so many movies and owns even more, that his collection is  free for my viewing pleasure!

Now I’m a fan of exciting police movies, and anything with action. If you throw a secret agent in there, then I’m automatically hooked. Lucky for me again, my brother has plenty of cop and gang movies. I have started making my way through his collection, and so far have watched ‘The Departed’ and ‘Heat’. I definitely recommend these two movies for anyone who loves a good exciting cop movie, and doesn’t mind a bit of coarse language…

Image

I have two movie trilogies I could watch on repeat for an entire year and not get bored of them. These are ‘The Dark Knight Trilogy’ and ‘The Bourne Trilogy’. Only the original first three Bournes though, because Matt Damon is THE ONLY Bourne! Listening to any song from either of these six amazing movies just makes you feel extra awesome walking down the street. In class I daydream of pulling a gun out of my back pocket and jumping out the window. Is that wrong? This particular piece of music needs to be my ringtone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYaso7QeXqU

Any who, when I watch a movie I like to accompany it with something to either sip or snack on. Usually it’s either popcorn or herbal tea. Pizza comes second after popcorn for popular movie snack foods. This particular pizza is super duper quick, healthy, light and delicious, and will make your movie choice that much more exciting!

P.S You may have noticed I’ve changed the name of my blog! At first I thought this blog was going to be more than food, but I found out I loved food blogging so much, the name was changed.

Pesto Pizza Florentine

  • 1 cup washed, dried and torn spinach. (if using baby spinach, no need to tear)
  • 1 recipe homemade pizza dough
  • 3/4 cup homemade pesto
  • 2 cups grated mozzarella cheese.

Make pesto-recipe below

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Make pizza dough-recipe below

Oil a sixteen inch pizza pan (or whatever you have; the crust will just be thicker if a smaller pan is used) and sprinkle cornmeal over it so the pizza doesn’t stick.

Spread pesto over, top with grated cheese and spinach.

Bake for 20 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

Enjoy!

Pesto Genovese-slightly adapted from Moosewood Cookbook This makes 2 cups, so you can make the whole recipe and freeze some in small batches for another recipe! 

  • 3 cups loosely packed fresh basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts or chopped almonds
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • salt and ground black pepper to taste

Whirl all the ingredients, except the oil, in a food processor or blender. When everything is well chopped, add the oil in a thin stream to form a smooth paste. If you are using a blender, it is necessary to prechop the herbs and nuts by hand.

Pizza Dough

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon yeast
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup very warm water

Whisk together whole wheat flour, salt and yeast. Mix in water and olive oil until soft dough forms. Add in all purpose flour and turn out onto surface, kneading until a smooth elastic dough forms. About 6 minutes.

Let dough rest covered, for ten minutes. Roll out dough on a floured surface, flipping dough over after a few rolls to ensure the dough doesn’t stick and is rolled out evenly.

2 thoughts on “Pesto Pizza Florentine

  1. I wondered if you’d do pizza. The error I made the first few times was I didn’t know there was any difference in the flours. The usual stuff you get in the supermarket is for baking or mixing with wholemeal for soda bread. The only actual yeast breads I’d seen was in the shops. And then you have grades of ‘Strong’ flour. It’s enough to make you think it’s ruddy chemistry you’re about not baking. It’s Canadian btw, something to do with your summers being hot enough to make the protein in the grain. Anywoozies, the first times before I got proper flour were either soggy to the point of raw or like a brick. But in truth I didn’t make good dough until I got my breadmaker.
    Oh, I also discovered if you get a 1cm thick floor tile either in stone or terracotta which you put on the oven rack works really well. You dust it with a pinch of flour so it won’t stick. I don’t know why exactly but it both slows and deepens the bake on the dough so you don’t have that border of stodge.
    On Ireland and the UK, in fact in northern Europe generally, going to the Movies is no cheap night out. And for some reason they reeeeeeeeeeeeely don’t like you bringing in your own nosh.

    Like

    1. I have definitely had many issues with yeast bread as well. The west coast of Canada where I live is actually very damp most of the year, so rising the dough is always my problem. Many a time I’ve not left my dough to sit long enough, and it’s turned out very dense. The way we rise dough in my house is turning on the oven to a low heat, puttin a pan of boiling water on a rack underneath the dough, and wrapping the dough in towels to keep the heat in. It’s quite the process! Sometimes we even make a tent out of towels keeping the heat in. I’ve heard placing the bowl of dough on a heating pad work quite well. I Think you have to be quite dedicated to making bread if living in the wet and damp parts of the world. Thanks for the tip about using a tile! I should try that…
      The movies isn’t cheap here either. In the end it’s cheaper to buy the movie than pay for the gas to drive to the theatre and actually purchase your ticket.

      Like

Comment

