Coconut Pancakes with Ginger Maple Syrup

Image

Waking up at 6 a.m on a Sunday morning on the day you have to work late just ain’t cool! You know I really love mornings, but not that much! My favourite mornings are the ones where I’m woken up by the sun shining through my window and the beautiful birds chirping sweetly. Unfortunately life isn’t like the fairy tales, and I don’t get many of these mornings. Usually I’m woken by crows fighting over the neighbour’s last night’sย barbecueย and a harsh beam of light at the lovely hour of 5 a.m. Likewise, today was definitely that kind of day! Not sure what the crows were fighting over this morning, but it sounded serious.

First off, can we just appreciate this amazing whisk?! My brother gave it to me for Christmas, and it’s amazing.

1

It’s the May long weekend here in British Columbia, so camper vans are as far as the eye can see and the lovely sound of late night parties are heard…paired with police sirens. So no school on Monday means a day of sweatpants and a tasty breakfast for me! At least that was the plan yesterday. Turns out I got called into work and had to be there for 8:00 a.m. Bummer! But life is life, and the thoughts of my own laptop and a university fund were upfront in my mind during today’s shift.

I also whipped cream by hand for these pancakes. I felt very accomplished, and it made the pancakes taste so much better! The first time I attempted whipping cream by hand it took 20 minutes and turned out more like butter. This time around, it was creamy perfection. Yogurt would also complement these perfectly if you don’t have cream kickin’ around or you want a healthy alternative.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did!

Coconut Pancakes with Ginger Maple Syrup

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp each of baking powder, baking soda and salt
  • 1 tbs of granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbs plus 1/2 tbs melted coconut oil
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp coconut extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut- absolutely any kind would work

Mix flour,ย baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar in a medium bowl and set aside.

Whisk egg and add 2 tbs coconut oil (melted in a small saucepan) to the egg. Whisk together and add buttermilk.

Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until well blended. Add coconut.

Melt 1/2 tbs coconut oil in a pan set on medium heat and using a 1/4 cup measure, make the pancakes! When bubbles start to form on the pancake and the edges look firm, flip that pancake!

Ginger Maple Syrup

Mix together an 1/8 cup of maple syrup and a small pinch of ground ginger in a small bowl, and pour onto pancakes! Ginger is quite strong, so start with a very small amount and add more depending on how strong you want the syrup.

I put whip cream on top of my pancakes, but yogurt would taste wonderful as well.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Coconut Pancakes with Ginger Maple Syrup

Comment

