Last Minute Strawberry Shortcakes

Yesterday I went on a super secret sneaky (oh yes alliteration) mission. It was a mission to get strawberries and whip cream. Before you click away because you’re afraid for my life, I survived, and better yet the mission was accomplished!

Image

Shortly after my mother left for a run, I sneaked out to grab the goods, and got back before her! Score! I feel bad because I had to work on Mother’s Day, but I got up this morning and made waffles and apple fruit sauce for breakfast with my Dad. So there’s some consolation there. I know it’s just a bit last minute to be putting up a Mother’s Day post, but I know some of you procrastinated…but don’t worry ’cause I won’t tell your Mom.

I think the best way to make your mom happy is to make things for her and cook for her. So my sister and I brought our Mother a café latté in bed.

I know Mother’s Day is now over, but this recipe is a keeper and it’s perfect for the beginning of summer. So I hope you enjoy this as much as my Mother did!

Image

Strawberry Shortcake- slightly adapted from Canadian Living

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • Grated lemon peel of 1 lemon
  • 4 tablespoons cold butter
  • 3/4 cup skim milk

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Combine first 5 ingredients in a medium bowl, mix well. Add cold butter; cut in using a pastry blender or 2 knives. Add milk, mixing lightly with a fork. Use your hands to gently pull dough together into a ball. Do not squeeze or massage the dough. You may need a bit more milk depending on the warmth of your hands and butter. The dough should be soft, with all dry ingredients incorporated. Place the dough on the counter and gently press into a 7″ circle.  Cut the dough into 8 wedges, and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Cool completely on rack.

To serve:

Cut up as many strawberries as you like and whip up as much whipping cream that fits your fancy, and put together your shortcakes.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Last Minute Strawberry Shortcakes

Comment

