Joy the Baker’s Blueberry Lemon-Poppy seed Muffins

It’s that time of the week. Wednesday. To me, Wednesday feels like Friday, and then when I wake up Thursday morning, it’s like Wednesday never happened. Here’s an idea, lets just skip Wednesday. Let’s just take it right out of the week. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday will be the new order.

Image

I’ve started the poetry unit in English. That means a new poem is due each week, so therefore being me, I just write deep stuff that doesn’t necessarily make sense but the teacher thinks it has an extremely hidden meaning so gives it full marks. Good stuff.

You know what’s some good stuff? These muffins from Joy the Baker. I know it’s been said already by every single food blogger, but I LOVE Joy the Baker. Her writing is more than o.k, her recipes are oh so tasty and her photography is more than alright. Whenever I’m on her blog I feel so welcomed and comforted. I feel inspired by her altogether relaxed, deal with life as it comes along take on things.

Image

This is the first recipe I’ve made off her blog after weeks of fumbling around on it. I hope you enjoy these muffins as much as I do!

I made a few changes to my own muffins. I used 2 eggs instead of one egg and a yolk, 1 cup of blueberries instead of 2 because I used little berries,  and I omitted the streusal topping.

The recipe: http://joythebaker.com/2012/06/lemon-blueberry-poppy-seed-muffins/

Image

3 thoughts on “Joy the Baker’s Blueberry Lemon-Poppy seed Muffins

  1. English isn’t designed to ‘do’ poetry. Prose, yes. Short stories, yes. Have you seen this one for a short short story “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.” Hemingway
    You really need a language that has a prefix root and suffix, one that has a natural beat and one that allows you to place the words as you wish. What no one tells you in high school about poetry is you are really reading in Latin translation.
    That isn’t to say there isn’t poets in English, only that they are really really really rare. And the really good stuff gives you the impression you are looking through binoculars backwards.

    Them’s buns btw. 😀

    Like

    1. Poetry is such a complex subject that I feel it should be it’s own class altogether! Probably not enough interest though…the school has to integrate it into our curriculum some how though, and I’m glad that they do. Haha, good ol’ Hemingway.

      Like

      1. Complex. It depends. In the romance languages a Carmina or Carmen is a song. It really is only in the English language we raise poetry beyond the grasp of the majority. Think of them as songs and you cut out much of the bull. You can have bawdy songs, rustic, folk, what-have-you. Very few listen to a fat lady belting out Wagner.

        Like

Comment

