Chocolate-Chai Biscotti

This post is sort of an excerpt of today’s random thoughts that have a little bit of something in common 🙂

Tonight I watched Jeopardy, read Pride and Prejudice, wrote this post, listened to some Young the Giant and dunk freshly made chocolate-chai biscotti in vanilla rooibos tea. What about you? Personally, this is my idea of an ideal night. Relaxing, winding down and sharing a tasty creation approved by the family makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside.

Image

“The rain in Spain lies mainly on the plain”…most definitely my plain. When it rains it pours in my part of the world, and I don’t mind it one bit. If it means I can drink another cup of tea then I’m set. Bring on the rain!

Today after being sent home from work due to the lack of business and excess of rain, I threw on the sweatpants and apron. There was no need for hours of scouring the bookshelf this afternoon my friends. I knew exactly what I wanted to make. These delectable creations of mine shall be treasured and created many a time to come.

Image

Now I’m not the kind of girl to go spend $6 on a snazzy drink from Starbucks. If you happen to find me sitting in a Starbucks one day, you’ll see me sipping on either an iced passion tea or a vanilla rooibos tea. If I’m feeling fancy though, I’ll purchase a chai tea latté. Now that is my favourite specialty drink…if you happen to be wondering.

I also happen to enjoy cracking walnuts…the tree in my backyard produced a plentiful harvest this year as usual, but we got the nuts before the squirrels this year. Yippee! So I like to throw on a movie and crack walnuts till my fingers are sore. Good stuff.

Image

Inspired by damp west-coast Springs, Starbucks, the walnut tree in my backyard and the chocolate chips in my fridge, here’s my tasty treat.

Chocolate-Chai Biscottibasic biscotti method found on eatcakefordinner 

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp each of ground black pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom and cloves
  • 4 tbl. softened butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped toasted walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 F

Whisk together flour, baking powder,salt and spices in a bowl.

Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy, beat in eggs one at a time, then beat in vanilla.

In small additions, add the flour mixture to the butter mixture until just combined.

Mix in walnuts until combined.

With floured hands, shape dough into a roughly 13 by 5 inch rectangle, and place on baking tray lined with parchment paper.

Bake for 35 minutes until top is lightly golden and cracked. Rotate pan halfway through baking.

Let cool for 10 minutes and turn the oven down to 325 F.

Cut the loaf into 3/4 inch slices with a serrated knife and place cut side up on the tray. Bake for 14 minutes until golden, flipping biscotti over halfway through.

Let biscotti cool on a wire rack, then drizzle melted chocolate over the top

Now dunk it in your favourite tea or coffee and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate-Chai Biscotti

  1. The end product looks delicious, don’t we all wait for the end product. I have watched the movie Pride and Prejudice twice, never read the book though. We also watched a movie yesterday, with a bag of chips and some Masala Tea. I like my tea hot and spicy..thanks for stopping by.

    Like

    1. My favourite version if P&P is the BBC series with Colin Firth. Especially the fact that it’s 6 hours…a good rainy day kid of movie 🙂
      Sounds like you had a good night as well!

      Like

Comment

