Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

Sometimes I feel sorry for chickens. All day they just lay eggs and eat grain. Maybe even sleep a bit…but mostly just lay eggs. I guess that’s just what they’re meant to do! That and run around squawking.

I also feel that many things are ridiculous. Wearing shorts in the winter time, not liking tea and using 8 eggs for a cupcake recipe that only yields 12 cupcakes. Like what? My aunt has six children. Her policy back in the day was to only use two eggs max for a birthday cake. I understand this.

Image

The other day I was looking for a brownie recipe. All I could find were recipes using 3,4,5 and even 6 eggs. It’s only an 8 by 8 inch pan! The poor chickens! You could say I’m kind of a chicken activist. Except I don’t hold up any signage or storm the egg farm gates. By mistake I learned all about the sad lives of a factory farm chicken. So therefore I only eat free range eggs. These are really easy to find in the farm town where I am, so that’s lucky. Anyways, back to the point.

Image

Sometimes I think things are just meant to be together. Like Robin Hood and Maid Marian, Jack and his Box, and raspberries and chocolate. Especially the last one. But in all seriousness, why use half a dozen eggs for a recipe that only yields a dozen brownies? Sure it makes the brownies more fudge like and gooey, but I think that many eggs is a wee bit silly.

Being me, I decided to just make my own recipe with only 2 eggs! So here it is, my 2 egg brownie recipe with raspberries that tastes heavenly. Without a lot of effort from clucky.

Image

Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit

Grease and flour an 8 by 8 inch pan

Place butter and chocolate chips in a heatproof bowl and place over a small pot of simmering water to melt completely.

In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, cocoa and salt.

In a large bowl beat eggs, sugar and vanilla together. Add melted chocolate and butter mixture to this mixture and mix well.

In 3 additions, add flour mixture to to egg mixture until well blended

Carefully fold in raspberries.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. (If using frozen raspberries like I did, you’ll need to bake for a few minutes longer if needed)

Cool on a wire rack, dust with icing sugar and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

  1. It funny but the only thing I can taste as organic is eggs, not one other thing. You’d think a carrot or beef grown sans chemicals would show it.

    A lovely recipe.

    A one you might try is chilli pepper and chocolate.

    Like

    1. Really? The organic carrots and beef that we get here tastes so much better and a lot different. I guess it all depends…
      Now chili and chocolate…that shall be my next brownie recipe.

      Like

      1. No, chop up a medium chili (or a hot as you can manage) and drop it in some melted dark chocolate. Then pour into a brick shaped mold

        Our beef is grass fed, so organic is more a moral stance. And a cash one too. Prices for organic can be four times more. However what farmers have discovered here is that the costs of chemicals&fertilizer removed from the costs make the switch more economic.
        While I don’t know about Canada my cousins tell me that the quality in the EU generally for food is vastly better to what they consume in the US.

        Like

      2. Oh, I see. We are really lucky to have friends who raise grain fed cattle, so we get it at a good price 🙂

        Like

Comment

