Puffed up Oven Pancake

Image

Breakfast. I love it, you love it and my brother loves it. No…he seriously loves breakfast. He could eat it for every meal if allowed. To him, nothing’s better than a stack of pancakes, a pile of bacon and a mountain of scrambled eggs. It also helps that he has an extremely high metabolism… 🙂

Image

When I was younger, we’d get up every Sunday morning and be welcomed with the delightful smell of waffles being made. It was wonderful, but I figured there were already so many recipes for various kinds of waffles out there that my recipe wouldn’t seem so special. So I’ve got something even better!

On Saturdays, I would help my Mom stir the pancake batter and peel apples to be cooked. But my favourite breakfast when I was a young one were puffed up oven pancakes. I think it was mostly because I was so fascinated by the fact that it’s flat when you put it in the oven, but comes out all risen…and…puffed up! Also, anything you can pour a healthy amount of maple syrup over is immediately one level up from anything else.

Enjoy!

Image

Puffed up Oven Pancakea good ol’ family recipe

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit

Place the butter in an 8 by 8 glass baking dish

Blend eggs, flour and milk together in a blender until frothy and well mixed

Put pan with butter into oven to melt

When butter is melted, take pan out of oven and pour batter into the pan

Cook for 15-20 minutes.

Enjoy with syrup, jam or fruit sauce.

4 thoughts on “Puffed up Oven Pancake

  1. Surfing blogs and found yours. I can almost taste that puffy pancake. I think I have a recipe for something similar we called a “Dutch Baby”! I have no idea where that name came from, but the taste is wonderful! Thanks for the inspiration to make one of these again!

    Like

    1. That’s funny, because at my house we actually call them Dutch Babies too! But I thought it more appropriate to call them a ‘Puffed up Oven Pancake” instead. Thanks for the follow!

      Like

Comment

