Walnut Bran Muffins

I know what you’re thinking…”Bran muffins? Aren’t they for old people?”

Well I’m here to tell you that is a complete and utter lie. Bran muffins can be enjoyed by the old AND young!

To me, baking is very therapeutic. After a long day of school or a stressful situation, I unwind by tossing together some ingredients while I sing Christmas carols out of season.

For example, yesterday I had an insane amount of homework. It’s probably not much to a medical student, but for a girl who hardly ever has homework, it was a lot! After slaving away for three and a half hours, I closed my books and stepped into the kitchen. Immediately I knew I was going to make one of my favourite things ever, walnut bran muffins.

We have a walnut tree in our back yard, so while watching Batman Begins I cracked an entire bucket and a threw bunch into the batter. Personally, I think you can never have enough walnuts in anything! So without further ado, here is my recipe for the best bran muffins ever.

Image

Bran Muffins-adapted from Bob’s Red Mill recipe

  • 1 cup wheat bran
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 cup molasses (or honey)
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F, and line a muffin tin with paper liners,
2. Mix together bran, flour, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl. Mix in nuts and raisins.
3 .In a separate smaller bowl beat eggs. Add oil, molasses and applesauce and mix thoroughly. Add milk and stir thoroughly.
4.Add wet to dry ingredients and mix until just moistened.
5. Fill muffin tins till they are 3/4 full with batter, top with a walnut half and bake 15 to 20 minutes. (mine took 15)

Image       IMG_9055

p.s. I love to enjoy one of these with an apple and a big cup of green tea in the morning 🙂

6 thoughts on “Walnut Bran Muffins

Comment

