Tuna Rice Salad with Kale

This morning I went for a run along the path by the river, when a coyote ran out of the bushes and started toward me. I’ve had many coyote encounters before after horseback riding and being around a barn for six years, so I wasn’t afraid or anything. To be honest the first thing I thought was, “Oh look a coyote! It’s so adorable!” which it was of course. The little guy then ran into the grass beside me, turned around and started trotting along beside me! We looked at each other curiously as we continued on running. After about half a kilometer of this, the coyote stopped and then ran in the opposite direction into a field.  I looked back, and the little guy was sitting down looking at me with ears perked. He continued looking until I disappeared around the bend in the trail and into the trees. It truly was an amazing moment!

Image

After that encounter, I returned home and surfed the web as I usually do and came across a recipe by ohmyfoodness. I get very excited when I see recipes that I actually have the ingredients for.  So being the hungry person I was after my run, I made this recipe for lunch! Sadly the chickpeas my mother had were frozen in the freezer, and I was too ravenous to take the time to thaw them. So here is my version of ohmyfoodness‘ Chick Pea Salad with Kale Greens.

Her recipe: http://ohmyfoodness.wordpress.com/category/recipes/dinner-recipes/page/2/

Recipe:

1 can of tuna mixed with a few tablespoons mayonnaise, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp dried basil, a hand full of chopped fresh parsley and pepper to taste.Image

Place the tuna on a bed of kale greens,1/2 cup of leftover rice (or freshly made,whatever floats your boat) and half a stock of chopped celery.

Image

That’s it! Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Tuna Rice Salad with Kale

Comment

