Green Tea and Why I Love it

Since this blog is about the foods I like to eat, (because I wouldn’t post recipes I don’t love here!) I’d like to share with you something that I love to drink. It’s called green tea. Oh, I’m sure you’ve heard of it before…right? Well you better have, because it’s lovely.

Image
from Google images

I first tried green tea years ago, but didn’t enjoy it enough to have it often. Time passed and the humble box of green tea sat on the shelf un-drunk. 

Then one day I was searching on the internet for at home, natural acne cures when I came across an article raving about green tea’s acne benefits. I really hate when people say they ‘suffer’ from acne. Really now, what are you suffering about? It’s not like you are lying in a hospital bed with a fatal illness or something. I like to refer as my acne as a minor inconvenience. Sure I care about it, but I don’t know someone who doesn’t want to get rid of it! So naturally I was searching, and came across the article about green tea. It told me to drink it every day because of it’s antioxidants and anti-microbial properties. So there begins my ‘story’.

I started drinking that humble box of green tea, and it replaced my regular Dilmah or Earl Grey tea I would usually have in the morning. I did and still do feel and see the benefits of drinking green tea. It helped clear up my acne a bit, and the redness and inflammation died down considerably! Sure it wasn’t a ‘miracle cure’, but it did help! As well as fixing up my acne, the tea made me feel really good in the morning. It has a small percentage of caffeine in it, so it does help you get through the entire day without needing a pick me up in the afternoon. The thing is, I am a very energetic person. I can run a marathon and bake a cake at 5:00 a.m fully awake, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t still drink this magical elixir if you aren’t! You may just need that pick me up.

My personal favourite green teas are the Tazo Zen, which is ‘A harmonious blend of green tea with lemongrass and spearmint’ and really tastes divine, and the organic green tea that comes in a purse. I apologize for not knowing it’s actual name…I’ve been drinking the Tazo stuff for quite a while now, and can’t even find it’s name on the internet!

Image
from Google images

A few facts about green tea:

  • Helps you lose weight
  • helps get rid of acne, minimises wrinkles and signs of aging
  • cleanses your body
  • reduces blood pressure
  • helps prevent tooth decay

With all these amazing benefits, I don’t know why you wouldn’t want to try it! Unless you really don’t like green tea…sadly I can’t help you there. 

If you have any other suggestions of green teas I should try, please leave a comment below.

Thanks for reading, and have a lovely day! 

 

2 thoughts on “Green Tea and Why I Love it

  1. Try some Mao Feng (Chinese white tea). It’s better if you can get low calcium water, 20 parts per. or less, the acidic water will draw more of the anti-stuffs and the tannin’s. It’s odd in that it’s both lighter and stronger than the usual green tea.
    P.S. the box might be humble. But the price per tea-bag/spoon certainly isn’t.

    Like

Comment

