Dark Chocolate-Cranberry Cookies

I am currently training for a 10 km run which is happening in just two weeks. I am doing it because a) I wanted to, b) It gives me a reason to get some exercise and c) I work off all the deliciousness I eat! So it’s like killing three birds with one stone! After school the other day I had planned on going on a run, but not before baking a batch of something. I never really plan what I am going to make. It usually goes a little like this…

Emma decides she want to create something tasty, so she strides over to the shelf with all the cookbooks and gazes upon the many glossy and not so glossy bindings. Eliminating ‘Homeopathic Cell Salt Remedies’ and ‘The Splendid Grain’ she reaches out two hands, taking a few books off the shelf. One hour later, she can still be seen flipping through cookbooks deciding on the perfect recipe. Once she finds the perfect recipe, she realizes a key ingredient is missing from the cupboards, so ends up just making cookies. 

Okay, fine…it’s not always like that. I swear though! This does actually happen, and not just once in a blue moon! This little event didn’t actually happen this time around because I was short on time, but I did know I wanted to make cookies. For my birthday, one of my friends gave me a magazine called ‘100 best Cookies’. To tell you the truth I was a little skeptical at first. It seems whenever a company claims they put together 100 of the greatest something or others, it ends up being ‘100 of the half-decent fit for my cat’ something or others. This magazine is different though! So far, everything I have made out of it has been delicious! Once I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it. One of my favourite combinations is chocolate and cranberry, so in a cookie…it’s just…I won’t even start.

 Image

Here’s a funny story about these cookies. The recipe calls for dark chocolate pieces, but when I went to New York, I brought back a giant Hershey kiss for my Mom I purchased at the Hershey store in Times Square. We didn’t have any chocolate chips in the house, so my mom said, ” Just use the Hershey kiss! I can’t finish it!” So  I chopped up what was left of it and threw it in my cookies. They would be better with the dark chocolate pieces I think, but the novelty of it was awesome.

 Image

My Mother went ‘green vegetable shopping’ and I snapped this quick picture, and it’s actually my favourite one I took! Not that these cookies have anything to do with asparagus, broccoli and green onions, but the colour contrast was just beautiful! 

Dark Chocolate-Cranberry Cookies– adapted from 100 Best Cookies magazine

1 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 cup dark chocolate pieces-or a giant Hershey kiss if you happen to have one handy!
3/4 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl combine flour and cocoa powder; set aside.

In a large bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar and baking powder. Beat until combined. Beat in egg and vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture until combined, then add in chocolate and cranberries.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are set. Cool on cookie sheets for a few minutes, then transfer to wire racks.

Makes around 20 cookies.

Enjoy!

 Image

Oh come on…just look at that. I know you can’t resist it. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate-Cranberry Cookies

Comment

